How To Use Bendy Foams (Heatless Curls)

bf_done2

Heatless curling methods are quite popular because it doesn’t damage hair as much as heat styling tools do. There are a number of ways to do this, but for today’s tutorial I’ll be using BENDY FOAMS!

Here’s how I use my bendy foams to curl my hair. *I actually got tips from my mom too because she used to do this in her teens.

The curling actually begins the night BEFORE.

These are bendy foams. They are available in different thicknesses. If you want really tight curls then you can use the thinner ones. I want my hair to look a little bit ‘beach-y’ so I’m using thicker ones.

I got mine at a department store for Php90 for a pack of 6.

bf_1

`1. START WITH CLEAN HAIR.

I just washed my hair and dried it. Some people start with a little damp hair. I’m not sure why but I’m not comfortable with that. It needs to be clean so that you’re sure that nothing is weighing your hair down.

bf_start

2. PART YOUR HAIR HORIZONTALLY IN HALF.

I then used a hair clip to put the top half in place so I can work on the bottom half.

bf_halfhair

3. SECTION THE BOTTOM HALF TO TWO AND UNTANGLE.

It’s always easier to work with untangled hair.

bf_comb

NOW THE CURLING STARTS!

4. TWIST HAIR IN THE MIDDLE OF THE BENDY FOAM.

Make sure your hair feels a little taut. Take the end of your hair and twist it once around the middle of the bendy foam. Note that it will be easier to lock in if you pull your hair from a higher angle like you would a regular roller.

bf_twst

5. KEEP ON TWISTING UNTIL YOU REACH THE ENDbf_twist1

bf_end

5. BEND THE FOAMS TO LOCK IT IN PLACE.

*sorry my camera didn’t focus right.

I personally pull both ends of the bendy foam down, then upwards to the opposite side to lock in my hair. Some people make sure it’s all neat and tidy but that’s just impossible for me and I’m happy with a little stray hair here and there. lol.

bf_inplace

I do a second one and now I just look like I have green and blue horse shoes on my head.

bf_inplace2

OTHER SIDE!

bf_otherside

Now I’m done with both sides. I feel like Queen Amidala at this point. Only I have a unicorn horn on top. weeeeee.

bf_queenamidala

6. SLEEP.

All done! For the day. haha.

I basically did the same for the top sections of my hair. I made sure to twist it and bend AWAY from the face so it won’t be all over my face when we unravel them tomorrow.

bf_sleep

GOOD MORNING! Now it’s time to unravel my curls.

*I assure you, your sleep will not be as comfortable, but for the sake of beauty, we shall endure*

As you can see I already put my make up and I’m basically ready except for my hair. If you did it wet and it’s still not completely dry, you can use a hair dryer but don’t put any heat, or you can leave it in to air dry some more.

bf_morning

I start to unravel with the first twist that I did.bf_untwirlThat’s a nice, bouncy curl we got there!
bf_untwirl2

I separate the big curl in to smaller curls so it doesn’t look like just a BIG curl but if you want leave it like that then that’s fine too.

DSCF5921 bf_sepa1

I do the same to the other side.
bf_otehrside

When I separate the curls, I help the little curl by twisting it back to it’s shape.

bf_twiril12

TADAAAAH! Now you have awesome curls with absolutely no heat used! You can style this however you want!

Don’t I look fancy? :))

bf_poodle bf_done1

Heatless curling methods have been used since time immemorial! It just needs a little more patience and time but it will definitely cost less damage to your hair. This actually just needs 2 hours to curl if you’re doing it with dry hair but take note that the longer you curl it, the longer it stays 🙂

You can also use some hair spray to hold it,

That’s all! I hope you found this useful! I’ll be making first impressions on a few lip products I got recently so stay tuned!

Love,

Hanna

BONUS PHOTOS.

What do you think about my new hair? Is it fancy? Do you like it?

Comment down below and subscribe!

bf_1.1bf_1.2

4 thoughts on “How To Use Bendy Foams (Heatless Curls)

Leave a Reply

