Kyo-To, Makati

K_Signage

Kyo-To, Legazpi Village

The restaurant itself will probably not catch your attention, but Kyo-to is definitely not one to miss especially if you love Japanese food as much as I do. The only things loud about the place are the food and of course, the chef himself Chef Kawamoto who worked for no less than the Japanese ambassador.

They say it’s authentic Kaiseki Ryori (Japanese multi course meal) but I can’t judge because I’ve never been to one. All I know is that I left happy and satisfied and barely breathing. lol πŸ˜€

K_door

Kyo-To is located in the Prudential Guarantee Building along Palanca Street, Legazpi Village. It’s not exactly incognito but if you didn’t know it was there, you might not have given it a second glance. Inside is no different. It feels kind of small and there are barely any decorations, save for a few jars and plates.

K_table

This is where they serve the food for singles or pairs. You may have a private room for groups 5 or more. Chef Kawamoto cuts through sashimi and prepares almost everything here.

The matcha colored room, as Jeff puts it, is light and airy despite the rather small area.

K_Towel

Here’s a warm hand towel to clean your hands first before eating.

K_Crab

Crab, Cucumber and Vinegar. Immediately, what stood out in this first dish is the simplicity and freshness of their ingredients. Apparently, they get their ingredients straight from Japan, which is why the menu changes daily. I wonder how they were able to slice the cucumber like that.

K_Crab1K_Shoyu

Somen Noodles with Mackerel. This dish took me back to Japan. I remembered all the Shoyu flavored noodles I ate because it was super comforting amidst the extremely cold weather. This however tasted very clean and fresh. The mackerel was juicy too.

K_Sashimi

Sashimi set. This set had abalone, uni (sea urchin), scallops and tuna. The only thing I could say would make this better is if the abalone wasn’t so chewy, and if the tuna were a little bigger. But the uni was the bomb. It melts in your mouth and tastes like it just came from the sea. The scallop was so deliciously sweet and fresh too! I could eat that scallop all day.

K_Hamachi

Hamachi. The hamachi was fried, therefore oily. It was a little too salty for my liking but it was sort of balanced out by the pickled onions and lemon. K_Squid

K_squid1

Squid in Tempura Sauce. I’ve never had squid with tempura sauce before, and I have to say it’s a good combination of sweet and salty.

K_Wagyu

K_Wagyu1

Wagyu Beef and Rice.Β The wagyu beef was served with some spinach on the side. Β IΒ might start asking for wasabi with my steak now because I really liked it. Β We enjoyed the dish withΒ a nice serving of Japanese rice.

K_greentea

Green Tea. Some green tea to help us down all the food we ate. We had a couple of re-fills so if they serve you this, don’t be shy to ask for more.

K_dessert

Vanilla Ice cream with Mochi. I didn’t expect vanilla ice cream for dessert but I liked this too. I was a kind of full already, so three mochi balls were too much for me. I gave one to Jeff instead πŸ˜› Apologies but I totally forgot what the powder was but it did give a salty twist to the ice cream.

The drinks are a little expensive. I had a bottle of Mineral Water for Php100++. Jeff had beer (Php260++). They serve a variety of drinks but we saw one Japanese guy bring his own alcohol. I’m not sure what their policy is regarding that.

K_JapBeer

K_JeffHannahChef

Jeff and I with Chef Kawamoto. He was super nice and polite although he did admit that even after a couple of years in the country, he still hasn’t been able to learn Filipino.

K_JeffOOTN

Posting this because Jeff looks too cool :))

K_JeffHanna

With Jeff and his pineapp— rurouni kenshin hair :))

An 8 course meal costs Php5,200++ per person. The flavors are not as complicated as other tasting menu type we’ve tried but I feel like it brought out the freshness of the raw ingredients the best. I especially liked the scallop and wagyu dishes.

If you plan to try it out, remember that they only accept customers with reservations so don’t forget to call them first.

Located atΒ 

119 C. Palanca Jr. St.,

Legaspi Village, Makati

Contact No.

(02) 805 7743Β 

Operating Hours

Tuesdays to Sundays 5:00pm – 9:30pm

Closed on Mondays

 

14 thoughts on “Kyo-To, Makati

Leave a Reply

